Hmmm… Turning on the oven for Butternut, Feta and Chicken Pie

12 05 2010

Well as this is my first ever foodie blog post, I really don’t know where to start. Perhaps with a proviso… I love food. But that doesn’t mean that I always know what I am doing in the kitchen. Ok? So please don’t hold me accountable for any of your kitchen calamities. Just like I now hold the chef who published the ‘idiot proof chocolate cake’ recipe responsible, because I am still filled with shame at having botched it. Totally and utterly. So I prefer to move forward unceremoniously with the only guarantee being that I love yummy food and will do my best to share some of my foodie fascinations with you. And there’s a second proviso, I must emphatically inform you that I did not start this blog after having seen the movie Julie & Julia. No siree.

Roast Butternut, Chicken, Caramelised Onion and Feta
Serves 3-4 | Preparation time 20 mins | Cooking time 25 mins

WHAT YOU’LL NEED
1 roll puff pastry, thawed
1 medium sized red onion
1.5 cups cubed butternut
Half a round of feta, crumbed (or more if you’re feeling indulgent)
One third cup grated cheese, anything you have in your fridge
2 Tbsp cottage cheese
1 cup chopped cooked chicken breast
1 tsp dried or 2tsp chopped fresh sage
1 Tbsp butter
Grease-proof paper

WHAT TO DO
1. Roast butternut in the oven, 20-25 mins (or microwave on high for about 5 minutes until soft)
2. Caramelise onions – slice thinly, fry in 1Tbsp butter and sprinkle with sugar. Cook for about 10-15 minutes until glazed and golden brown.
3. Leave butternut and onions to cool. Leave the oven on at 180C as you’ll need it again for the pie.
4. Roll out the puff pastry and cut in half.
5. Place one layer onto grease-proof baking paper on a baking tray.
6. Mix cooled butternut and onions in a bowl with chicken, sage, feta, grated cheese and cottage cheese. Add salt and pepper to taste.
7. Spoon the mixture into the centre of the first layer of pastry and spread it out leaving about 1-2 cm around the border of the pastry.
8. Lay the second sheet of pastry over the mixture and press the outside edges down with a fork to seal.
Use pastry brush to coat the whole pie lightly with milk or melted butter (or dab with kitchen paper soaked in the liquid)
9. Place the tray with the pie into the oven, bake at 180C until golden, about 25 minutes.
Serve with a small side salad, I used rocket, rosa tomatoes and cucumber with a drizzle of balsamic reduction.

So, my legendary husband Rob (he’s super cool by the way, and not just because he’s the perfect person to ply with my latest gastronomical creations) really enjoyed this one. I think he gave it an 8/10. It went down very well in front of the fire last night while we listened to the howling galing Cape Town weather wind (apparently galing is not a word, but if you live here you know what I mean). The thing I love most about this recipe is that it is SO versatile. Use left-over roast chicken and roast veggies, use bacon and mushrooms, just about anything can work. You can also make mini pies and freeze them for those days when you can’t face the kitchen. Whatever, just get creative. And enjoy.

That’s it for now. I hope you like it. (Please be my friends).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

